Federal Territory Day for the year 2024 is celebrated/observed on Wednesday, February 1st. There are until the next observance.

Federal Territory Day is an annual regional festival held in Malaysia on February 1 to commemorate the founding of the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur in 1974. Malaysia’s three federal territories are Kuala Lumpur, the relatively younger Putrajaya, and Labuan.

📆 When is Federal Territory Day?

This year, Federal Territory Day is on February 1st. It is the 1st Wednesday in February; in 2024, it is on Thursday.

Countdown to Federal Territory Day

Did you know: Federal Territory Day is a regional holiday that is only celebrated in three of Malaysia’s sixteen states.

You can also learn all exciting things you didn’t know about and facts about February 1, 2023.

📜 History of Federal Territory Day

When the Federal Territory Agreement was ratified four days after it was signed on January 28, 1974, Selangor state gave up some of its land so that Kuala Lumpur could grow and become an independent region with its own government. This is seen as the start of the Federal Territory Day celebration.

The day was established on February 1, 1974, to commemorate the anniversary of the establishment of Kuala Lumpur. Perhaps it’s also because February 1 has added historical significance, being the day the country was founded in 1948.

On February 1, the regional holiday is frequently honored as an annual public holiday. The event is often marked by wild performances, parades, fireworks, cultural displays, a wide range of sports, contests, and other activities, all of which are free to attend.

The declaration late in Kuala Lumpur’s history to relocate government administrative offices from Kuala Lumpur to the newly founded Putrajaya (one of the three federal territories) was generally seen as an endeavor to turn all government assets into commercial ventures in the city. Despite the fact that that notion was proven correct, it is just now being regarded as a good idea.

☑️ Federal Territory Day facts

It’s mostly known as Hari Wilayah Persekutuan
Among the natives, the festival is known as Hari Wilayah Persekutuan.

13 states, three federal territories
Malaysia is made up of 13 different and culturally diverse states as well as three federal areas.

The day doubles as an award ceremony
Hari Wilayah Persekutuan is also a day to recognize famous people who have made significant contributions to the country.

Things to do on Federal Territory Day

Read Malaysia’s history
Malaysia’s modern history began in 1963, when the former British colony of Singapore and the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak became members of the Federation of Malaya. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia’s capital, was still part of Selangor state at the time. Take a trip back in time to commemorate Federal Territory Day.

Attend the parades
This is the most appropriate method to commemorate Hari Wilayah! The event is celebrated in Malaysia’s three federal territories with fireworks, parades, cultural shows, and performances, most of which are free to the public.

Show support online
Share photos and intriguing thoughts on the exhibits and performances from the celebration event on social media to show your support and enthusiasm for the holiday. Use the hashtag # FederalTerritoryDay to commemorate the occasion.

📅 Federal Territory Day Observances

2024 February 1 Thursday
2025 February 1 Saturday
2026 February 1 Sunday
2027 February 1 Monday
2028 February 1 Tuesday

See all February holidays, including Federal and other Civic holidays.

We will continue to update this page with new information and must-know facts about Federal Territory Day. So be sure to check back soon.